
Best eSIM for Australia 2026: Telstra vs Optus 5G (Sydney, Outback)
Telstra has Australia's widest coverage — the network that holds on road trips and in regional areas where Optus drops. Telstra wholesales to no travel eSIM brand, so an eSIM means Optus — 20 GB for about US$20. Coverage and price comparison for 2026.
Published June 28, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·6 min read
30-day auto-refund on no usageSummary
For 2026 travel across Australia, a Optus-backed travel eSIM is the safest pick because Telstra has the strongest mobile coverage in Australia — the network that holds on road trips and in regional areas where Optus drops. A 20 GB plan runs a few dollars, far less than roaming.
| Plan | Price | Network | Speed | After daily allowance | IP breakout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 days | US$2.99 | Optus | 5G | 512 Kbps | SG |
| 3.0 GB · 30 days | US$3.99 | Optus | 5G | — | SG |
| 50 GB · 180 days | US$54.99 | Optus | 5G | — | SG |
Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.
How Australian mobile networks work in 2026
Australia has three networks — Telstra, Optus, and Vodafone. The gap between Telstra and Optus is small in cities but large in regional areas; Optus is fine in Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane, but Telstra is the safer choice for outback drives, national parks, and coastal touring. 5G is live in the major cities. Most travel eSIMs ride one of these networks, so the deciding factor is which carrier your plan routes through — for a varied trip, size up rather than counting on Telstra, which no travel eSIM can sell you.
Australia eSIM 2026: who wins on what
Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Worth saying up front: Telstra leads Australia on coverage and no major travel eSIM rides it, so every brand here competes below that.
| Category | Winner | Runner-up | On what basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widest coverage | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | both publish 1 network |
| Cheapest per GB | Nomad | YonoSIM | $0.64/GB vs $0.66 — at 50GB/$32/30d |
| Widest plan range | Saily | YonoSIM | 9 distinct data sizes vs 8 |
| Publishes its network | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier |
| Brand | Networks in Australia | Best $/GB | Plans | Sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YonoSIM | Optus (5G) | $0.66 | 60 | 8 |
| Airalo | Optus | $0.90 | 54 | 7 |
| Nomad | Not disclosed | $0.64 | 38 | 8 |
| Saily | Not disclosed | $1.50 | 33 | 9 |
| Holafly | Not disclosed | — | — | — |
Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.
Which one to pick
- Coverage first? YonoSIM and Airalo publish the most networks in Australia (Optus).
- Cheapest data right now is Nomad at $0.64/GB — YonoSIM is $0.66. If price is the only thing you are optimising, buy theirs.
- Want an unusual data size? Saily offers the most granular ladder (9 distinct sizes).
- Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.
- If you truly need Telstra: no travel eSIM here rides it. Buy a local SIM on arrival.
Plan size by trip length
| Trip length | Data | Typical price | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sydney city break (3–5 days) | 5 GB | US$4–6 | Maps + messaging |
| 1–2 weeks | 20 GB | US$14–18 | East-coast touring |
| Road trip / outback | 25 GB or unlimited | — | Navigation, uploads, hotspot |
eSIM vs roaming vs pocket Wi-Fi
| Option | Cost | Setup time | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM (Optus) | Low | ~5 min (pre-install on Wi-Fi) | Excellent (widest national) |
| Carrier roaming | High | Instant (already enabled) | Medium (partner-dependent) |
| Pocket Wi-Fi | Medium | Airport pickup / rental | Good (extra device to charge) |
Best pick for your trip type
Sydney / Melbourne city break: a 5 GB plan handles maps and bookings. East-coast touring (Cairns, Great Ocean Road): 20 GB on Optus keeps you covered between towns. Outback or remote road trips: size up on Optus and size up to 25 GB or unlimited. Browse YonoSIM's regional plans if you're pairing Australia with Asia stops.
FAQ
QDo any travel eSIMs ride Telstra in Australia?
ANo major travel eSIM brand rides Telstra — it does not wholesale to them. YonoSIM and Airalo both route through Optus and both publish that; Saily, Holafly, and Nomad do not disclose their Australian carrier. Optus is strong across Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, and the east coast. If your trip goes deep into the Outback, budget for a prepaid Telstra SIM on arrival as well — that is the honest answer.
QWhich Australian carrier has the best coverage for tourists?
ATelstra has the widest coverage in Australia and is the safer choice once you leave the big cities for road trips or regional areas. Optus works well in Sydney, Melbourne, and Brisbane and along popular coastal routes. For the Outback or national parks, choose a Optus-backed eSIM.
QHow much data do I need for two weeks in Australia?
AAustralia is spread out, so two weeks of maps, navigation, and social usually fits a 20 GB plan, which runs about US$20. A shorter city trip suits 10 GB; heavy hotspot users should size up further.
QIs 5G available in Australia in 2026?
AYes — 5G is enabled in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, and Perth, while 4G dominates rural and remote regions. A travel eSIM on Optus delivers 5G in those cities where the network supports it.
QShould I get a SIM at the airport or an eSIM before I fly?
AAn eSIM is faster and cheaper for most visitors. Install and activate it on Wi-Fi before departure and data is live the moment you land — no airport queues, no roaming bill of US$10–15/day.
Bottom line
For most Australia trips, a Optus-backed travel eSIM is the right call — 5 GB for a city break, 20 GB for east-coast touring, 25 GB or unlimited for the outback — because Telstra holds where Optus drops. Install before you fly and skip the airport SIM queue.
Related guides
Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-australia-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM