
Best eSIM for Dubai & the UAE in 2026 — Plus the WhatsApp-Call Fix
The UAE blocks WhatsApp and FaceTime voice/video on local networks — but a travel eSIM still gives you fast e& (Etisalat) 5G data from about US$2. Here is what works, what does not, and which eSIM to buy before you land in Dubai.
Published June 27, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·6 min read
30-day auto-refund on no usageSummary
A UAE travel eSIM gives you fast e& or du 5G data from a few dollars — but note that WhatsApp and FaceTime voice/video calls are blocked on UAE networks. Texts, photos, and voice notes work; for calls, use a UAE-licensed app like BOTIM. Install the eSIM before you fly — the UAE restricts selling travel eSIMs once you are in-country.
| Plan | Price | Network | Speed | After daily allowance | IP breakout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 days | US$6.99 | Du | 5G | 512 Kbps | Europe |
| 3.0 GB · 30 days | US$8.99 | Du | 5G | — | Europe |
| 10 GB · 60 days | US$28.99 | Du | 5G | — | Europe |
Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.
The VoIP rule every Dubai visitor should know
The UAE's two operators — e& (formerly Etisalat) and du — are legally required to block unlicensed VoIP traffic, so WhatsApp, FaceTime, and Messenger calls do not connect over local data, eSIM or otherwise. The licensed alternative is BOTIM, approved for voice and video on UAE networks. Everything else — maps, browsing, social, messaging text — works normally and fast on 5G.
The same rule breaks Wi-Fi Calling. If you were planning to use it to receive SMS 2FA codes on your home number over hotel Wi-Fi, it won't register in the UAE on any foreign carrier. Move critical accounts (bank, email, exchanges) to an authenticator app before you fly — see the 2FA-abroad guide for the full blocked-country list.
UAE networks & plan size
e& has the widest 5G footprint as the UAE's largest carrier, and du delivers excellent coverage across Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and the wider Emirates. For a standard 5–7 day Dubai visit, 10 GB covers Google Maps, Careem rideshare, social, and messaging; lighter users do fine on 5 GB.
| Trip length | Data | Typical price | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3–4 days | 5 GB | US$13–17 | Stopover / short break |
| 5–7 days | 10 GB | US$28 | Standard Dubai visit |
| 7+ days | Unlimited | US$16–25 | Long stay, heavy hotspot |
the UAE eSIM 2026: who wins on what
Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Where a brand publishes nothing, it is marked as such rather than guessed at.
| Category | Winner | Runner-up | On what basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widest coverage | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | both publish 1 network |
| Cheapest per GB | Nomad | Airalo | $1.45/GB vs $1.65 — at 20GB/$29/30d |
| Widest plan range | Saily | YonoSIM | 8 distinct data sizes vs 7 |
| Publishes its network | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier |
| Brand | Networks in the UAE | Best $/GB | Plans | Sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YonoSIM | Etisalat (5G) | $2.55 | 51 | 7 |
| Airalo | Etisalat | $1.65 | 53 | 7 |
| Nomad | Not disclosed | $1.45 | 24 | 6 |
| Saily | Not disclosed | $1.70 | 25 | 8 |
| Holafly | Not disclosed | — | — | — |
Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.
Which one to pick
- Coverage first? YonoSIM and Airalo publish the most networks in the UAE (Etisalat).
- Cheapest data right now is Nomad at $1.45/GB — YonoSIM is $2.55. If price is the only thing you are optimising, buy theirs.
- Want an unusual data size? Saily offers the most granular ladder (8 distinct sizes).
- Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.
eSIM vs roaming vs pocket Wi-Fi for the UAE
| Option | Cost (7 days) | Setup time | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM (e& / du) | US$9–16 | ~5 min pre-install (before arrival) | Excellent (local carrier) |
| Carrier roaming (US/UK) | US$70–105 | Instant | Medium (partner-dependent) |
| Pocket Wi-Fi | US$35–55 | Airport pickup | Good (extra device to charge) |
Picking the right UAE eSIM
Stopover or short break (3–4 days): a 5 GB plan at US$13–17 covers maps, Careem, and social.
Standard Dubai visit (5–7 days): a 10 GB e&- or Etisalat-backed plan at about US$28.
Long stay (7+ days): an unlimited daily-throttle plan at US$16–25. Whatever you choose, install before you fly. Browse our eSIM destinations to find a UAE plan.
FAQ
QWhich network do travel eSIMs use in the UAE?
AYonoSIM and Airalo both route through Etisalat, the UAE's coverage leader, and both say so upfront. Saily, Holafly, and Nomad do not publish their Emirati carrier. Because the network is the same, compare on price, validity, and refund policy instead.
QDo WhatsApp calls work in Dubai on an eSIM in 2026?
AWhatsApp and FaceTime voice/video calls are blocked on UAE networks — e& and du are required to block unlicensed VoIP, so a normal data eSIM cannot make those calls either. Text, photos, and voice notes work fine. For voice/video, use a UAE-licensed app like BOTIM, or connect over a VPN at your own discretion.
QWhich UAE carrier has the best coverage for tourists?
AThe UAE has two operators: e& (formerly Etisalat) with the widest 5G deployment, and du with excellent coverage across Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and beyond. Both blanket the tourist areas, so an e&- or Etisalat-backed travel eSIM gives fast, reliable 5G data.
QHow much data do I need for a Dubai trip?
AFor a 5–7 day Dubai visit, 10 GB covers Google Maps, Careem, social, and messaging comfortably; lighter users do fine on 5 GB. A 10 GB plan runs about US$28 and 5 GB about US$15 — still well below carrier roaming.
QCan I buy a travel eSIM after I arrive in the UAE?
AYou should buy and install it before you land. UAE regulations restrict the sale of travel eSIMs within the country, so purchase online and provision the profile at home — it activates on the first UAE tower handshake when you arrive.
Bottom line
For a Dubai or UAE trip, a 10 GB e&- or Etisalat-backed travel eSIM at about US$28 is the call — install it before you fly, and use BOTIM for voice/video since WhatsApp and FaceTime calls are blocked. You land with fast 5G data on and skip the in-country eSIM restriction.
Related guides
- Best eSIM for Qatar 2026
- Best eSIM for Egypt 2026
- Best eSIM for Morocco 2026
- Best eSIM for Turkiye 2026
- Keep your number abroad — eSIM + Wi Fi Calling 2026
Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-dubai-uae-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM