Rural Hokkaido landscape with 5G icon — Japan travel eSIM buying guide 2026

Best eSIM for Japan 2026: NTT Docomo for Rural Hokkaido, the Alps & Kumano Kodo

NTT Docomo is the only carrier reliable in Japan's mountains and rural far north — Hokkaido, Tohoku, and the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage routes — thanks to 700–800 MHz low-band antenna density. A 10 GB Docomo-backed travel eSIM runs about US$13. At US$0.66/GB we are also the cheapest of the five brands tracked here, ahead of Nomad at $0.70 (esimDB, 20 August 2026).

By · Founder, YonoSIMLinkedIn ↗

Published June 29, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·6 min read

30-day auto-refund on no usage

Summary

For 2026 travel in Japan, a Docomo-backed travel eSIM is the safest pick because NTT Docomo is the only major carrier reliable in rural Hokkaido, Tohoku, and the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage routes — its 700–800 MHz low-band spectrum gives antenna density in mountains where SoftBank drops. A 10 GB Docomo-backed travel eSIM runs about US$13.

On price, we are the cheapest of the five brands we track here: US$0.66/GB against Nomad’s $0.70, Airalo’s $0.89 and Saily’s $1.25, measured on each brand’s best-value plan via esimDB on 20 August 2026. The full scoreboard is below, including the category we lose.

Japan eSIM plans — live from our catalogue
PlanPriceNetworkSpeedAfter daily allowanceIP breakout
Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 daysUS$2.99NTT docomo5G256 KbpsJP
3.0 GB · 30 daysUS$3.99NTT docomo / Rakuten Mobile / KDDI/au / SoftBank5G—HK
50 GB · 180 daysUS$54.99NTT docomo5G—JP

Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.

How Japanese mobile networks work in 2026

Japan has three major networks — NTT Docomo, KDDI (au), and SoftBank. All three run 5G across Tokyo, Osaka, airports, and the Shinkansen corridor, but Docomo widens the gap in rural and mountain zones (Hokkaido, Tohoku, the Japanese Alps, Kumano Kodo) thanks to 700–800 MHz low-band density. KDDI (au) is a strong silver medal — its femtocell tech serves mountain areas well — and SoftBank is fastest in the metros but has more dead zones in the wilderness. Because the Japanese carriers don't sell convenient tourist eSIMs, a travel eSIM bought online is the practical route: pre-install on Wi-Fi so you land already connected at Haneda or Narita.

Japan eSIM 2026: who wins on what

Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Where a brand publishes nothing, it is marked as such rather than guessed at.

CategoryWinnerRunner-upOn what basis
Widest coverageYonoSIMAiralo4 networks published vs 2
Cheapest per GBYonoSIMNomad$0.66/GB vs $0.70 — at 50GB/$32.99/30d
Widest plan rangeSailyYonoSIM9 distinct data sizes vs 8
Publishes its networkYonoSIM & Airalo—Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier
BrandNetworks in JapanBest $/GBPlansSizes
YonoSIMNTT docomo (4G/5G) · KDDI/au (5G) · SoftBank (5G) · Rakuten (5G)$0.66888
AiraloSoftBank · KDDI$0.89558
NomadNot disclosed$0.70378
SailyNot disclosed$1.25349
HolaflyNot disclosed———

Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 18 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.

Which one to pick

  • Going beyond the cities? YonoSIM publishes the most networks here (NTT docomo (4G/5G) · KDDI/au (5G) · SoftBank (5G) · Rakuten (5G)), which is what decides whether the map still loads when one carrier thins out.
  • Cheapest data: YonoSIM at $0.66/GB, ahead of Nomad at $0.70.
  • Want an unusual data size? Saily offers the most granular ladder (9 distinct sizes).
  • Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.

Plan size by trip length

Trip lengthDataTypical priceBest for
City break (3–5 days)3–5 GBUS$3–6Tokyo / Osaka only
1 week (Tokyo–Kyoto–Osaka)10 GBUS$8–11Classic tourist week
Rural / Alps / Kumano Kodo10–20 GB (Docomo)US$8–18Off-corridor navigation
2 weeks / multi-city / hotspot20 GB or unlimitedUS$14–18Rail passes, uploads, hotspot

eSIM vs roaming vs pocket Wi-Fi

OptionCostSetup timeCoverage
eSIM (Docomo)Low~5 min (pre-install on Wi-Fi)Excellent (incl. rural + mountain)
Carrier roamingHighInstant (already enabled)Medium (partner-dependent)
Pocket Wi-FiMediumAirport pickup / rentalGood (extra device to charge)

Best pick for your trip type

Tokyo / Kyoto / Osaka city break: a 5 GB plan on any major carrier covers maps and train apps. Classic 1-week tour (Tokyo–Kyoto–Osaka): a 10 GB Docomo-backed plan at about US$13 is the sweet spot. Rural Tohoku, Hokkaido, Japanese Alps, or Kumano Kodo: Docomo is the only carrier that reliably holds signal — size up to 20 GB so navigation stays live between towns. Hopping across Asia: a regional plan via YonoSIM's Japan coverage keeps one profile live on the trip.

FAQ

QWhich travel eSIMs ride NTT docomo in Japan?

AYonoSIM routes across docomo, KDDI/au, SoftBank, and Rakuten, so the phone picks whichever holds — docomo is the one that matters in the mountains. Airalo publishes SoftBank as its primary Japanese network. Saily, Holafly, and Nomad do not publish which Japanese carrier they use. For Tokyo, Osaka, and Kyoto any of them is fine; for Kōya-san or the Japanese Alps, docomo access is the deciding factor.

QWhich Japanese carrier is best for rural areas like Hokkaido and Kumano Kodo?

ANTT Docomo is the only major carrier reliable in rural Hokkaido, Tohoku, and along the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage routes. Its 700–800 MHz low-band spectrum gives antenna density in mountains and low-population zones where SoftBank drops. KDDI (au) is a solid second thanks to femtocell tech for mountain areas. A Docomo-backed 10 GB travel eSIM runs about US$13.

QCan I buy a Japanese carrier eSIM as a tourist?

ANot easily — Docomo, au, and SoftBank don't sell short-term tourist eSIMs in a convenient way, often requiring residency, a Japanese address, or a contract. A travel eSIM bought online before you fly is the practical option, and the good ones route through Docomo or au for full national coverage.

QHow much data do I need for a week in Japan?

AA standard week of Google Maps, train apps, translation, and social fits 5–10 GB. Plans start at a few dollars for 1 GB; a 10 GB Docomo-backed plan (~US$9) suits a typical Tokyo–Kyoto–Osaka week, and 20 GB (~US$16) covers two weeks or rural detours with hotspot use.

QDo I need Docomo for a Tokyo–Kyoto–Osaka trip?

AIf you're staying on the Shinkansen spine, any of the three majors works — SoftBank and au are fastest in the metros. Docomo becomes the only reliable choice the moment you leave the main corridor: Hakone, Nikko, the Alps, Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kii Peninsula, or any onsen town off the main line.

Bottom line

For most Japan trips, a Docomo-backed travel eSIM is the right call — 5 GB for a Tokyo city break, 10 GB (~US$13) for a Tokyo–Kyoto–Osaka week, 20 GB for rural Hokkaido or Kumano Kodo. Docomo holds where SoftBank drops in the mountains and far north, and the Japanese carriers don't sell convenient tourist eSIMs anyway. Install before you fly.

Related guides

Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-japan-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM