
Best eSIM for the UK 2026: O2 & Three Data Plans From ~$5
YonoSIM's UK eSIM rides EE, O2, and Three, three of the country's four national 4G/5G networks. A 10GB plan covers a typical 1–2 week London-and-beyond trip for far less than US/EU roaming. Buying guide with a side-by-side comparison.
Published June 30, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·5 min read
30-day auto-refund on no usageSummary
For a 1–2 week UK trip, a 10GB travel eSIM at ~US$10–15 riding EE's award-winning network, O2, or Three gives wide 4G/5G coverage across London and beyond. Independent network tests rank EE first for UK coverage and 5G, and a prepaid eSIM costs far less than US or EU roaming.
| Plan | Price | Network | Speed | After daily allowance | IP breakout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 days | US$1.99 | O2 / EE / 3 | 5G | 512 Kbps | FR/NL/UK |
| 3.0 GB · 30 days | US$2.99 | O2 / EE / 3 | 5G | — | FR/NL/UK |
| 50 GB · 180 days | US$54.99 | O2 / EE / 3 | 5G | — | FR/NL/UK |
Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.
How UK networks work in 2026
Four operators run the UK: EE, Vodafone, Three, and O2. EE consistently posts the widest coverage and strongest 5G, with Vodafone close behind — and Vodafone and Three recently combined their networks under VodafoneThree. YonoSIM routes across EE, O2, and Three, so you get the same towers a local SIM uses, with 5G across London, Manchester, Edinburgh, and Birmingham.
UK eSIM 2026: who wins on what
Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 20 August 2026.
| Category | Winner | Runner-up | On what basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widest coverage | YonoSIM | Airalo | 3 networks published vs 1 |
| Cheapest per GB | YonoSIM | Nomad | $0.66/GB vs $0.70 — at 50 GB / $32.99 / 30 days |
| Widest plan range | YonoSIM | Saily | 10 distinct data sizes vs 9 |
| Publishes its network | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier |
| Brand | Networks in UK | Best $/GB | Plans | Sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YonoSIM | 3 (4G) · O2 (5G) · T-Mobile UK (5G) | $0.66 | 76 | 10 |
| Airalo | EE | $0.78 | 78 | 8 |
| Nomad | Not disclosed | $0.70 | 35 | 8 |
| Saily | Not disclosed | $1.55 | 29 | 9 |
| Holafly | Not disclosed | — | — | — |
Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 20 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.
Which one to pick
- Coverage first? YonoSIM publishes the most networks in the UK (3 (4G) · O2 (5G) · T-Mobile UK (5G)).
- Cheapest data: YonoSIM at $0.66/GB, ahead of Nomad at $0.70.
- Want an unusual data size? YonoSIM offers the most granular ladder (10 distinct sizes).
- Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.
Plan size by trip length
| Trip length | Data | Typical price | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3–5 days | 3 GB | US$2–4 | Maps + Tube + messaging |
| 1–2 weeks | 10 GB | US$7–9 | Standard tourist use |
| 3+ weeks / heavy use | 20 GB | US$14–18 | Streaming, hotspot, uploads |
eSIM vs roaming vs pocket Wi-Fi
| Option | Cost | Setup time | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM (EE / O2 / Three) | Low | ~5 min (pre-install on Wi-Fi) | Excellent (local 4G/5G) |
| Carrier roaming | High | Instant (already enabled) | Medium (partner-dependent) |
| Pocket Wi-Fi | Medium | Airport pickup / rental | Good (extra device to charge) |
Best pick for your trip type
Long weekend in London (3–5 days): a 3GB plan at US$5–10. One-to-two-week England/Scotland tour: a 10GB plan at US$10–15 for daily maps, rail apps, and uploads. Long stay or heavy streaming: a 20GB plan. Browse the full lineup on YonoSIM's Europe page.
FAQ
QWhich UK network has the best coverage for tourists?
AEE consistently tops UK coverage and 5G rankings, with Vodafone and Three close behind. YonoSIM routes across EE, O2, and Three, so coverage in London and major cities is excellent and reaches well into rural areas.
QHow much does a UK travel eSIM cost?
AFixed-data plans start at a few dollars for 3GB and US$10–15 for 10GB (30 days). A 5–10GB plan covers a typical 1–2 week trip of maps, the Tube, contactless apps, and social use.
QIs there 5G in the UK in 2026?
AYes. EE, Vodafone, Three, and O2 all run 5G across London and major cities, and most travel eSIMs connect to 5G where available — fast enough for streaming, video calls, and hotspot use.
QWill my phone work with a UK eSIM?
AIf your phone is eSIM-capable (iPhone XS+, Galaxy S20+, Pixel 4+) and carrier-unlocked, yes. Install on home Wi-Fi before you fly and it auto-connects when you land at Heathrow, Gatwick, or Manchester.
Bottom line
For most UK visitors, a 10GB O2- or Three-backed travel eSIM at ~US$10–15 is the right call — install at home, land at Heathrow with data on, and skip roaming. Long stays or heavy streamers should jump to a 20GB plan.
Related guides
- Best eSIM for France 2026
- Best eSIM for Italy 2026
- Best eSIM for Spain 2026
- Best eSIM for Germany 2026
- europe travel eSIM guide 2026
- Keep your number abroad — eSIM + Wi Fi Calling 2026
Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-uk-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM